Grow with IAM Yoga!



We’re Social!

Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Youtube


What is Raja Yoga?

What is Raja Yoga? Patanjali saw four paths for attaining the “union” of yoga. In past posts, we have discussed Karma yoga, or the yoga of service, and Bhakti yoga, or the yoga of devotion. This path, the one of Raja yoga, is considered the...

What is Bhakti Yoga?

“Devotion" is a loaded word, particularly in our secular world. You might associate devotion with a demand for blind faith or particular ideas about God. But Bhakti yoga is not meant to be restrictive or prescriptive. The path of Bhakti Yoga is about dedication, devotion,...

What are the Yoga Sutras

What are the Yoga Sutras? You might have heard the “Yoga Sutras” mentioned once or twice in your yoga classes, and you might have even started wondering who “Patanjali” is. If both of those terms are brand new to you, that’s okay too! Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras...

What is Karma?

What is Karma? Karma is a word that is effortlessly thrown around; we all know what kinds of things give us “good karma” or “bad karma.” But despite the pop-culture associations, Karma is an important concept in many Eastern religions like Buddhism, Jainism, Hinduism, Sikhism, and...

Interview: Lisa Helm

An Interview with Lisa Helm Tell me about your yoga background. I tried yoga for the first time in the basement of a YMCA when I was fifteen years old. I remember the first time that my mind settled during the meditation – eighteen years later, that...

What is Samadhi?

What is Samadhi? This article is part of a series exploring ashtanga yoga, or the eight-limbed path. You can check out previous articles on the seventh limb, Dhyana, the sixth limb, Dharana, the fifth limb, Pratyahara, the fourth limb, Pranayama, and the third limb, Asana, as...

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons