What is Ashtanga Yoga?

An introduction to Ashtanga Yoga in Toronto

Ashtanga yoga is a popular style that is taught in many studios in Toronto, and it is the basis upon which Vinyasa-style classes are often built. Ashtanga itself was popularized in the West by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois (1915-2009), who learned the postures from his teacher, Krishnamacharya, in Mysore, India (Click here to read more about Krishnamacharya in our post on Vinyasa).

Ashtanga yoga is a progressive set series of postures. Practitioners work through each series and move on to the intermediate and advanced series once they have mastered the primary. You may be used to the primary series, which is the one most commonly taught in studios across the city: five each of Surya Namaskar A and B (the sun salutations) followed by a standing sequence a seated series with a Vinyasa in between each pose.

Ashtanga means “eight limbs,” and so there are eight stages of a traditional Ashtanga practice going far beyond the physical postures. Ashtanga practitioners traditionally work through all eight of the limbs through study, reflection, meditation, and practice. Here is a brief introduction to the eight limbs of Ashtanga.

  1. Yamas

The Yamas are defined as “right actions” that a yogi integrates into his or her everyday life. They include:

  • Ahimsa: Non-harming; Ahimsa is about practicing a lifestyle that causes no physical, emotional, or mental harm to yourself or another. Many take Ahimsa to mean a vegan diet as well as avoiding leather, fur, and other animal products.
  • Satya: Truthfulness; speaking and living the truth. The combination with Ahimsa balances Satya so that you would avoid speaking a truth that would harm another person.
  • Asteya: Non-stealing; Asteya means to take only what is given freely, so this Yama includes turning away from the fruits of forced labour and slavery.
  • Brahmacharya: Restraint; this Yama is traditionally associated with sexual abstinence but can be applied in a broader way to mean moderation in all things to keep a balance in your life.
  • Aparigraha: Non-attachment; letting go of everything you do not need and also letting go of the fruits of your actions.
  1. Niyamas

The Niyamas are qualities that the yogi incorporates into his or her actions and attitudes. They are:

  • Saucha: Purity or cleanliness; this typically means eating well, staying away from toxic or unhealthy foods and substances, keeping the mind pure and focused, and the body clean and healthy.
  • Santosha: Contentment; Santosha is all about being content with what you have and not coveting the possessions or practices of others.
  • Tapas: Austerity; Tapas is often associated with the “heat” of willpower. Practicing Tapas is to practice that which benefits you even when you don’t want to.
  • Svadhyaya: Self-reflection; studying and reflecting on learning about yourself as deeply as possible so you can learn and grow from your mistakes.
  • Ishvarapranidhana: Connection to the divine; this Niyama is about surrendering the fruits of your practice to a higher power, whatever that means to you.
  1. Asana

Asanas are physical yoga postures; this is likely the part of the Ashtanga practice that you are most familiar with. Through physical practice, we bring our body and mind into balance in order to progress further through the eight limbs. 

  1. Pranayama

Pranayama is breathwork; there are many techniques and practices for working with the breath. The general idea of Pranayama is to gain control over the breath; when you can control your breath, you can manage your mind.

  1. Pratyahara

Pratyahara is a withdrawal of the senses. At this stage of the eight limbs, Yogis let go of all external stimuli to focus internally.

  1. Dharana

Once you have withdrawn the attention to within the self, Dharana is “concentrating” on a single thing – a sound, image, or thought – for extended periods.  The practice of focus in the previous three steps leads to Dharana.

  1. Dhyana

Dhyana is meditation: uninterrupted concentration. Instead of focusing on one thing as in the previous step, Dhyana is aware without focus.

  1. Samadhi

Samadhi is defined as ecstasy when the meditator gives up his or her sense of self and merges with the divine. Samadhi is traditionally considered to be the ultimate goal of yoga practice, but of course, that depends on your own outlook and goals for yourself!

If you’re interested in learning more about each facet of the Ashtanga philosophy, stay tuned! We’ll be exploring each aspect in depth over the next few months. In the meantime, you can always ask one of our experienced Ashtanga teachers questions when you come to class – you can practice Ashtanga at IAM YOGA with Jonny Belinko, Juliana Belinko, and Rovana Adjodha.

Book an Ashtanga Yoga Class

No matter how you’re feeling, you are always welcome to take any kind of class you wish. However, it can be helpful to understand how to either supplement or counter the energy of the class to get what you need from the practice. For example, Ashtanga yoga classes tend to be busy, high-energy, fast-moving practices.

View Ashtanga Yoga Classes

We believe in community - we really want to know how you're doing, what you're up to, how your day was... authentic connection is important to us!

We believe in offering dynamic, challenging and exciting classes built on fresh sequencing ... we spend a lot of time thinking about keeping sequences fresh, classes challenging enough and our instruction exciting and innovative.

The mind is just as important to us as the body is... You'll sweat, you'll stretch and you'll strengthen in our classes but you will also learn a lot about how the science of mindfulness can improve your overall brain function and help you build optimal mental health.

We believe that your environment can influence your state of mind, and as a result, we have put lots of thought into designing beautiful spaces so you have a lovely experience.

The best instructors

Meet our awesome yoga instructors who offers tons of classes

We do not project traditional ‘ideas’ around the meaning of ‘yoga’ onto our students or in our classes.  Our instructors guide students and assist with adjustments to make each posture, breath, and action as effective as possible for the mind and the body – encouraging each individual to seek out their definition of what ‘yoga’ should mean for them.

Meet The Team


“Yoga is the journey of the Self, through the Self, to the Self” – Bhagavad Gita